Navigation Drawer – Google Dev Web Fundamentals


Google Developers Web Fundamentals
Navigation Drawer

Navigation Drawer - Google Dev Web Fundamentals

My new Web dweeb obsession is the Navigation Drawer as defined in Google’s Web Fundamentals.

First made popular by the mobile version of Facebook (with it’s roots found in Google Chrome’s tool icon theft of Apple’s iOS playlist reorder icon), now it can be found on every popular site and I predict will become as commonplace as the header and footer to site design (there’s a reason Google includes it in it’s Web fundamentals).

Popular sites have even begun to include it into desktop version site design – YouTube is one example.

I myself have been studying how the functionality works in jQuery and have many prototypes (here’s my latest: http://ejgh.co), but I will now begin to adopt Google’s standard to simplify things going forward.

Here’s an example of that:

https://google-developers.appspot.com/web/fundamentals/resources/samples/layouts/navigation-patterns/appbar-navdrawer-sample1

My hopes are now with this standardization by Google others will more heavily adopt and it will become more standard in WordPress development.

